1-800-267-4088 info@naturecanada.ca français
  Sign up for email updates! 

Douglas H. Pimlott Award

Nature Canada / About Us / Awards & Scholarships / Douglas H. Pimlott Award

Nature Canada Pimlott Award CrestThe Douglas H. Pimlott Award is Nature Canada’s highest honour.

Douglas H. Pimlott was a renowned conservationist, wildlife biologist, ecologist and environmentalist. He was the founder of the modern environmental movement in Canada. The award was created over 30 years ago and is Nature Canada’s pre-eminent award. It is given to an individual whose outstanding contributions to Canadian conservation serve as an example to us all.

Douglas H. Pimlott Award Recipients

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, OC, OOnt (2014)
Robert Bancroft (2011)
Jackie Waddell (2010)
Robert Bateman (2009)
Harvey Mead (2008)
Dr. George Archibald (2007)
Dr. David M. Green and Dennis Baresco (2006)
Monte Hummel (2005)
Colin Stewart (2004)
Cliff Wallis and Martha Kostuch (2003)
Senator Mira Spivak, Kraft Sloan & Clifford Lincoln (2002)
Dr. David Schindler (2001)
Greg Mitchell (2000)
Robert S. Carswell (1999)
Dorothy Dickson (1997)
Marilyn Latta (1996)
Harold Hinds (1994)
Frank Switzer (1998)

Rosemary Fox (1993)
Diane Griffin (1992)
Joy and Cam Finlay (1991)
Lorne Scott (1990)
Dr. William Fuller (1989)
Stuart and Mary Houston (1988)
Thom Henley and John Broadhead (1987)
Lyn MacMillian (1986)
George E. Ledingham (1985)
Vernon C. Brink (1984)
Vladimir J. Krajina (1982)
W.W.H. Gunn (1981)
J. Dewey Soper (1980)
Jennifer Shay (1979)


Nature Canada Board members shall not be eligible for this award during their term of office unless the Awards Committee unanimously considers the contribution in time and effort by the Director to be truly outstanding and significantly above that expected of Nature Canada directors. Nomination for the award can be made by any member of Nature Canada.

Are you a Nature Canada member? *You must be a Nature Canada member to nominate someone for the Douglas H. Pimlott Award.

Your name (required)

Your email (required)

Your phone number (required)

Nominee's name (required)

Details of the nominee’s achievements including: the scope of impact, the degree of collaboration between the nominee and Nature Canada, percent of the nominee’s resources participating in the project, the achievements of the project, and the degree of completion of the project;

Nomination Procedure

  1. The Awards Committee will review the nominations, acquire such additional information as is required to rate the nominee, and recommend the Awardees to the Board, for ratification.
  2. The Nature Canada Board shall confer the Douglas H. Pimlott Award to the recipient at the Annual Banquet or the next earliest opportunity.
  3. On the recommendation of the Committee, a file may remain active for 3 years or until an award is made to the nominee, whichever comes first. The President shall contact the nominator for each active file well in advance of the published deadline to ask if there are any appropriate additions to the file.

The Douglas H. Pimlott Award consists of the following:

  • a story in Nature Canada publications describing the accomplishments for which the recipient won the award;
  • the presentation of a sculpture, painting or other work of art with a plaque bearing an appropriate inscription;
  • if the winner attends the Annual Banquet, an expenses-paid trip for one person for substantiated costs up to the economy airfare from the winner’s home to the conference location plus ground transportation (taxi or bus) from the airport to the conference residence, one night’s accommodation (single room rate), and banquet costs to Nature Canada’s Annual Meeting and Banquet.  All expenses are to be in accordance with the Nature Canada Travel Policy and receipts must be submitted; and
  • lifetime membership in Nature Canada

Back to Top