Alaska Wilderness League · Center for Biological Diversity · Climate Hawks Vote · Defenders of Wildlife · Earthjustice · Earthworks · Environment America · Eyak Preservation Council · Fairbanks Climate Action Coalition · Friends of Alaska National Wildlife Refuges · Friends of the Earth · Greenpeace USA · Gwich'in Steering Committee · Hip Hop Caucus · National Audubon Society · National Wildlife Refuge Association · Native Movement · Natural Resources Defense Council · Nature Canada · Northern Alaska Environmental Center · Sierra Club · The Wilderness Society · Vet Voice Foundation

June 19th, 2018

Dear Representatives Huffman, Grijalva, Gallego, Lowenthal and McEachin,

On behalf of our millions of members and supporters, we are writing to sincerely thank you for your continued leadership in defending and protecting the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. In particular, we thank you for introducing H.R. 5911, the Arctic Cultural and Coastal Plain Protection Act.

As you know, this critical piece of legislation will repeal the disastrous provision in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act that added oil and gas development as a purpose of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, and mandated an oil and gas leasing program on its Coastal Plain. This bill must pass if we are to achieve the ultimate goal of designating the Coastal Plain as wilderness, and we will work with you every step of the way to achieve that outcome.

As the bill states, Americans cherish their expansive, unspoiled wilderness ecosystems and want to protect them for future generations. The Arctic National Wildlife Refuge represents the epitome of unique wildlife, wilderness and recreational values, including the Porcupine Caribou herd that have sustained the food security and culture of the Gwich'in people for millennia.

The majority of the America public do not want, have not asked for, and will not accept sacrificing the Coastal Plain – "the sacred place where life begins" – for short-sighted, destructive fossil fuel production. At this challenging time in our political environment and in the face of an "energy dominance" agenda, we need Congressional champions like yourselves willing to stand strong and resilient on the long path towards permanent protection for the Coastal Plain.

We thank you for your inspiring leadership and look forward to working with you to restore protection for the Coastal Plain and defeat any threats to this iconic place. We will not give up!

In gratitude,

Adam Kolton, Executive Director

Kieran Suckling, Executive Director

Alaska Wilderness League

Center for Biological Diversity

RL Miller, President Reverend Lennox Yearwood Jr., President

Climate Hawks Vote and CEO

Hip Hop Caucus

Jamie Rappaport Clark, President and CEO

Defenders of Wildlife David Yarnold, President & CEO

National Audubon Society

Trip Van Noppen, President

Earthjustice Geoffrey Haskett, President

National Wildlife Refuge Association

Jennifer Krill, Executive Director

Earthworks Enei Begaye, Executive Director

Native Movement

Ed Johnson, President

Environment America Rhea Suh, President

Natural Resources Defense Council

Carol Hoover, Executive Director

Eyak Preservation Council Graham Saul, Executive Director

Nature Canada

David Raskin, President

Friends of Alaska National Wildlife

Elisabeth Dabney, Executive Director

Refuges Northern Alaska Environmental Center

Erich Pica, President Michael Brune, Executive Director

Friends of the Earth Sierra Club

Annie Leonard, Executive Director Jamie Williams, President

Greenpeace USA The Wilderness Society

Bernadette Demientieff, Executive Director Garrett Reppenhagen

Gwich'in Steering CommitteeVet Voice Foundation